Join the Past Life team as we take another step beneath the New Brighton Pavillion, into the World War 2 Tunnels.
Our last visit proved so interesting with activity from the very start. We just had to come back.
During World War Two, between 1942 and 1944, the New Brighton Palace arcade was Depot 0616 of the U. S. Army: the cellars became an ammunition factory employing two hundred women, a base for fire watchers, and a communal air raid shelter, one entrance to which, a large iron grille, is still to be seen in Virginia Road at the back of the Palace.
The History of the New Brighton Palace is a fascinating one, the tunnels are said to go back over 200 Years to the Times of the Wreckers & Smugglers and were later redeveloped when the Palace was built. The tunnels were then used as a munitions factory during WW2 and later became a nightclub known as The Creep.
Ghosts in the Tunnels
The Tunnels beneath the New Brighton Palace are Haunted by Several Ghosts, The lost Souls of the doomed passengers whose bodies were tossed inside the old caves and hidden during the wreck of the Pelican, there is the Grey lady that roams around making herself known to those whom venture into the tunnels. There is also the Angry Smuggler whom is searching for his missing loot and there has been objects moved and bangs occurring when nobody else is down there. Some years back when two joiners were in the tunnels, One of the joiners, hard at work, asked his companion to hand him a hammer, reaching his hand out for it without looking. He felt the hammer placed in his hand and continued his work. A few moments later, his fellow joiner entered the area, having gone off on a short break. He knew nothing of the incident.
Details supplied by Hidden Wirral Myths and Legends
Previously at Creep Tunnels